9/2/13 – M

There is a sanctuary in introversion.

It has been a battery of academics and extra-curriculars. I find myself having little time to take a breather, something I awfully need. I’ve been spending a lot of time not just reading page after page of different textbooks and setting up photoshoots and doing a little bit of journalistic work on the side, but dealing with a lot of different people. Why am I including the “dealing with people” part? Well, I’d like to believe my inner introvert has been far too tired out, far too stretched.

Somehow, this year in university, I’ve felt as if there is a lot of pressure for me to break the “barrier” of introversion by actively getting to know and hanging out with people, and perhaps “forcing” myself to at times has gotten me to fumble at the “task” of it. Or maybe people just have been simultaneously acting odd lately. I’ll leave it at a mix of both.

It’s far from being a bad thing, being with a lot of human beings. In fact, these probably have been some of the happiest months of my life largely because of the people seated near me in classrooms and during organization meetings. But I do end up sorely needing much more time to do things alone without being in a state of worry or feeling unproductive. I’d love to go read some non-academic literature, go out on my own on the streets to take photographs, spend days creating vector illustrations or playing some one-player video games, things that are greatly “lone wolf-y” (my vocabulary is running short).

Throw in some family time in the mix, and maybe, internally, a lot more things would be brought back in balance.

Leave a comment